vLookup, currentUser and rules

Forums vLooup for SharePoint vLookup, currentUser and rules

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Maciek Grischke
      Participant

This is my first attempt to implement vLookup, but I’m having difficulties understanding the plugin.

Here’s what I want to do:

In NewForm, check the current user. Pull value (text) from another list, specific to the current user. Then apply a rule based on the result, i.e., hide all fields if the value is (or contains) “No” or show all fields if the value is (or contains) “Yes” etc.

I will be using “enforce unique values” in the first list so only one result is returned.

I’d appreciate it if someone could guide me on how to start this.

Many thanks!

Alexander Bautz
      Keymaster

I think you might have misunderstood the use of the vLookup plugin. It is used to pull data from another list and display it in a table view in the form. You cannot use the result in a rule as a trigger.

What you are trying to do is possible using some Custom JS to do the query and then call a rule for “Yes” and another for “No” when the query has finished.

If you can give some more details about the query (field names etc.) I’ll try to give you a code snippet to do it.

Alexander

Maciek Grischke
      Participant

Hi Alexander,

here’s what I want to do.

There are two lists:
      – Employees and
      – Holiday Requests.

The Employees list contains their AL entitlement, balance in hours.

When the employee requests a holiday via Holiday Request list, I want the NewForm to display their AL balance pulled from the Employees list.