Help with Custom JS

Forums Classic DFFS Help with Custom JS

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Jon Mortimer
      Participant

Hi, I am a newbie to Custom JS and was wondering if you could assist me with using {timestamp[hh/mm/yyyy hh.mm]} and the prepend function to add data to a field via setFieldValue? I’ve tried many variations and I’m just not familiar enough. Also, are there other internet sources that would provide some better understanding of custom JS?

Alexander Bautz
      Keymaster

Hi,
      Custom JS is just a place to write JavaScript. There are of course a few internal DFFS functions that can be used, but it is basically just a place to put your own JavaScript code to do stuff in the form.

Look at this thread for an example of how you can append text: https://spjsblog.com/forums/topic/recreating-multiline-text-field-with-append-changes-without-sp-versions/

Alexander

Jon Mortimer
      Participant

I may not be explaining correctly, sorry. I’m looking for specific examples of the append (and prepend “function”) when used with setFieldValue and timestamp. I have searched your site and have tried many different variations with no success. So either it’s not available to me in my environment or I’m doing it wrong. I’m assuming I’m doing it wrong.

I appreciate the link AND YOUR SUPPORT. I have revieved the link a few times and still have issues. The code is very specific to their needs. I imagine my needs would be a single line of code.

Alexander Bautz
      Keymaster

Sorry, I though you were looking for a custom js example – if it is in the set field value section in a rule you can look at the contextual help in that section.

Let me know if you have any further questions.

Alexander

Jon Mortimer
      Participant

Yes, I am looking for “specific custom JS examples” not a rule. In the custom JS, I would like to know how to use the timestamp and append/prepend to combine those with an existing field value.